What is an Opt out and what does it do?
An Opt out is a choice made by a recipient to no longer receive email communications from an individual or from a business. In Send, the recipient can choose to opt out from three different levels of the account hierarchy.
What are the different levels of Opt outs?
- Group level: the recipient will be opted out of all accounts that sit under the group (including all Clients and Users)
- Client level: the recipient will be opted out of the specific client that the communication came from i.e Newsletters sent the communication but they'd still like to receive comms from other Clients such as Events and Tax.
- User level: the recipient will be opted out of this account only, they will still receive communications from all other users under the group.
Where can each level of Opt out be seen within an account?
If you are an admin user, you can view all levels of opt outs from Group or Client level dependant on your rights. Admin > Activity > Opt outs.
If a recipient opts out of Group level, it'll filter down through to the Client and User level. Then when you attempt to add the contact to a campaign, you'll get a popup and the contact will show with a strikethrough.
How do I Opt out?
A recipient can opt out by clicking the Unsubscribe link at the bottom of any email Campaign or you as a user can opt them out manually by clicking the drop down menu next to their contact. Opting out via the Campaign will lead you to the Preference Center where the recipient will choose a User level opt out or Group opt out. Dependant on your configuration, this will trigger a confirmation email where the recipient can also opt back in.
Opting a Contact back in
You can opt a contact back into the system two ways, either by sending them a manual notification to opt in or asking the Support team to opt them in from the backend. To manually send a notification, you'll need to go to Contacts > Find the contact > Click the drop down menu > Opt in. For Concep to opt them back in from the backend, you'll need to forward written consent to the Support team and the team will confirm once done so.